skip to Main Content

The Muslim’s Guide to Halal Supplements

Muslim's Guide to Halal Supplements

As a Muslim, there are certain dietary requirements that you have to follow.

In fact, Islam ordains to its believers to follow certain rules when it comes to eating. Thus, he distinguishes between good food and drink that are permissible to eat (halal) and bad food and drink that are illicit to eat (haram).

Illicit (haram) food and drink include meat of swine, dead meat, the meat of non slaughtered animals, alcohol and blood among others.

Likewise, halal supplements should not contain swine and non ritually slaughtered animal derivatives, blood, and alcohol in any form.

A Growing Demand for Halal Supplements

Of course, not every Muslim strictly follows the Halal diet – but the majority does as there is a growing desire among young Muslims to consume halal and follow the precepts of Islam.

There are even some non-Muslims who do follow it in a new surge of popularity.

UK newspaper the Guardian has put the boost in Halal sales down to a new generation of Muslims creating demand; and a growing public distrust in native Butchers.

This expanding population of young Muslims has leaked into other areas and is starting to have an effect… particularly in health and fitness.

Supplements manufacturers have sniffed the opportunity and have started to enter a market estimated to reach $279 billion by 2021.

What to Look for in Halal Supplements?

This discussion thread gives some good examples of what makes certain supplements Haram (the opposite of Halal).

In short; most of these supplements contain things like Gelatin, made from animal bones… which animal exactly is not a certainty. If one ingredient within a product is not Halal then the whole product is not Halal.

Some products might contain alcohol or other animal derivatives – all because manufacturers want cheap ways to produce.

So, if you happen to be a Muslim and an Athlete, you are inevitably going to have to be very careful about which substances you take to boost your strength.

There are certain clues on the packaging of any product that claims to be Halal. The first thing you should look out for is the Halal Certificate, and it looks like this:

Image for Certified Halal Food

This certification ensures that the supplements have undergone get regular inspections to ensure the procedure is followed.

You can also check the label for a GMP stamp – that’s a “Good Manufacturing Process” certification.

To learn more about Halal vitamins and multivitamins, check out this post about Halal vitamins and multivitamins. In general, you want to look for the words “100% alcohol-free”. You also want to make sure there are no pork derivatives in the supplements.

Also a great resource to use is the Muslim Consumer Group, who can suggest supplements and tell you whether or not an ingredient is Halal.

Just be aware that capsules tend to contain pork gelatin, so even though the ingredients might be safe, the actual capsule itself might not be.

Look for plant-based capsules and remember that most Vegan supplements will also be Halal.

Supplements You Should Consider

What Sports Supplements Should I take?

When it comes to sports supplements, there has always been, and always will be, some debate regarding their safety and efficacy. But there are some supplements that have no adverse health effects yet come with numerous highly desirable benefits, and we list 10 of them in this article.

Because supplements are just additions to healthy eating and not necessities, and because real foods are the best source of nutrients for the body, we explain how best to take each of the supplements in addition to a healthy diet.

Whey Protein

How to Use Whey Protein to Lose Fat and Gain Lean Muscle Mass

Whey protein is the most bioavailable source of protein. During training, whey protein promotes the growth of lean muscle mass, and it can also help with losing weight thanks to its satiating properties.

How Is It Made?

Whey protein is derived from cow milk. During the process of cheese fabrication, the liquid product is purified through microfiltration or ion exchange to remove fats, carbohydrates, water, and minerals.

The resulting liquid is then pasteurized and dried to obtain what’s called whey, which typically consists of 80% protein and 20% lactose.

Most manufacturers will use a microbial substance called Rennin (or Rennet) which is derived from animals. Thus there’s a divergent opinion on whether Whey is Halal or not. But fortunately, Halal Certified Whey do exist.

Is It Safe?

Unless you are allergic to dairy products, whey protein is completely safe to consume.

How It Works

By supplying the body with amino acids, whey protein increases protein synthesis and decreases protein breakdown. This aids lean muscle gain and promotes post-exercise recovery.

How and When to Take It?

Active people who would like to build and keep lean muscle mass should consume 1.5 to 2 grams of protein per 1 pound of body weight (or 2 to 2.5 grams per kilogram of body weight) per day. Whey protein can be consumed at any time of the day (usually in servings between 25 to 50 grams), but most athletes prefer to take it after workouts.

Related: Halal Certified Whey Protein Powders

Our Pick: EAS 100% Whey Protein Powder

Egg White Protein powder

Brown Eggs On Brown And Red Ceramic Spoon With Egg White protein Powder

Egg whites are high in protein and contain all nine essential amino acids, which make their protein a complete one. An raw egg white contains on average 11 grams of protein per 100 grams of egg white.

It’s a much convenient way to get a load of protein than the typical liquid egg white.

How Is It Made?

Egg whites are separated from the yolks, pasteurized and processed into a fine powder. Most manufacturers use the cheapest eggs to make their egg white protein powders, so there are some quality and ethical points to check before choosing a brand.

Is It safe?

Egg white protein is completely safe to consume.

How It Work?

The same way as Whey protein, by providing muscles with the needed amino acids to increase protein synthesis.

Egg white protein powder has the advantage of being free of lactose and fat.

How and When to Take It?

Egg white protein powder can be taken at any time of the day. But just as Whey protein, most people consume it post workouts.

It can be mixed with mater (fresh or warm), milk or smoothies.

Related: Best Egg White Protein Powders

Our Pick: Judee’s Gluten Free

Vegan Protein Powder

Vegan Protein

Vegan protein powder is simply a plant based protein powder. Thus it’s suitable for both Muslims, vegetarians, and vegans.

How Is It Made?

Most protein powders are made from soy, pea, hemp and rice. The grains are grinded into flakes to extract its oil. Then the flakes are processed into concentrates and spray-dried into powder after isolating and removing fat and carbs.

Is It safe?

Plant based protein are completely safe to consume. However, there are some concerns regarding soy protein mainly the presence of GMO ( genetically modified organisms).

In the other hand, most plant based protein powders are a blend of several grains.

How It Work?

Like all other protein powders.

How and When to Take It?

Can be taken throughout the day.

Related: Best Tasting Vegan Protein Powders

Our pick: Orgain Plant Based Protein Powder


Optimum Nutrition Instantized BCAA

Also known as Branched Chain Amino Acids, BCAAs are composed of three essential amino acids: leucine, isoleucine, and valine.

What makes them essential is the fact that the body can’t produce them on its own. Instead, the body gets them through protein-rich foods like beef, chicken, eggs, and fish—or various BCAA supplements.

While BCAAs help increases protein synthesis, they are mainly recommended for exercising in a fasted state.

Other benefits include reducing muscle soreness and fatigue, accelerated recovery, and more efficient use of fat as a fuel source for muscles.

How Is It Made?

BCAAs come from two sources: animals and plants. The animal-based BCAAs are made from duck feathers, pig fur, or even human hair.

On the other hand, the plant-based BCAAs are mainly made from soy and corn.

Is It Safe?

Since BCAAs are not only safe, but they are also essential, and their deficiency can have many different adverse health effects.

How It Works

By combining simpler amino acids into complex ones, BCAAs replenish glycogen stores in order to fuel muscles, thus preventing the body from using muscle tissue as a source of energy during intense workouts.

How and When to Take It?

BCAAs come in powder and pill forms. The recommended dosage ranges from 5 to 10 grams, and you can take BCAAs before, during, or after your workouts.

Related: Halal BCAAs

Our Pick: Clean Machine BCAA


chemical formula of creatine on a blackboard
chemical formula of creatine on a blackboard

Creatine, chiefly available in the form of creatine monohydrate, is an organic acid that promotes the growth of lean muscle mass and increases the efficiency of high-intensity training. It is produced naturally in the body, but only in small doses. It is also found in protein-rich food including meat, eggs, and fish.

How Is It Made?

Although creatine is available in meat, eggs, and fish, it would be financially unfeasible to extract it from these sources. That’s why it’s produced synthetically by combining two raw chemicals: sarcosinate and cyanamide.

Is It Safe?

According to many researchers (see here and here), creatine has one of the best safety profiles in the supplements industry.

How It Works

Whenever our body performs a muscular contraction, a molecule called ATP (Adenosine Triphosphate) is used as the energy currency of the cell, leaving behind ADP (Adenosine Diphosphate). Creatine enables the body to recycle ADP to ATP via donation of phosphate groups.

How and When to Take It?

Creatine is usually taken daily in a single dose ranging from 3 to 5 grams. It can be taken either before or after a workout.

Our Pick: BulkSupplements Creatine

Related: Best Creatine Powders


Best Glutamine Supplement of 2018

Glutamine is the most common amino acid found in the body. It helps improve recovery and muscle gain. It’s mainly recommended for vegetarians who don’t eat meat and dairy products.

How Is It Made?

Glutamine is extracted from hydrolysates of animal or plant protein through the chemical process of fermentation and purification.

Is It Safe?

Since glutamine is naturally present in the body, it is considered to be safe.

How It Works

Glutamine is an α-amino acid, and it functions as the building block during the biosynthesis of proteins. It prevents our body from using its muscle mass as a source of energy by decreasing insulin levels.

How and When to Take It?

The recommended dosage ranges from 5 to 10 grams a day. It can be taken at any time of the day, but most athletes prefer to take it post-workout.

Related: Best Glutamine Supplements

Our Pick: BulkSupplements Glutamine Powder


Beta-alanine powder

Beta-alanine is a non-essential amino acid that helps enhance performance and reduce fatigue during intensive exercises. It’s mainly found in protein-rich foods.

How Is It Made?

Beta-alanine is made using patented chemical processes of acrylic acid and esters.

Is It Safe?

The studies conducted so far hasn’t shown any negative effect of supplementation with beta alanine.

How It Works

Beta-alanine helps to produce extra muscle effort, and promote lean muscle gain through its direct constituent carnosine, a substance that helps delay the production of lactic acid in muscles.

How and When to Take It?

It is recommended to take between 3 and 6 grams of beta-alanine at any time of the day. The goal is to build up the carnosine concentration in the muscles.

Related: Best Beta-Alanine Supplements

Our Pick: BulkSupplements Pure Beta-Alanine powder


Caffeine from roasted coffee beans, ground coffee and cup of coffee on wooden

Caffeine is a natural stimulant that helps increase performance by reducing perceived pain when taken before heavy workouts. It’s found in coffee, tea, and cocoa.

How Is It Made?

Although caffeine can be produced synthetically, most caffeine on the market is a byproduct of the decaffeination process.

Is It Safe?

Caffeine is widely accepted to be safe if taken in reasonable doses, otherwise, you may experience some unpleasant side effects

How It Works

By blocking the adenosine receptors, caffeine promotes dopamine and glutamate neurotransmitters and reduces perceived pain.

How and When to Take It?

Caffeine supplements typically come in the form of capsules or powder. The recommended dosage depends on multiple factors such as age, gender, and body weight. But it is not generally recommended to take more than 400 mg per day of caffeine.

Related: Best Caffeine Supplements

Our Pick: Genius Caffeine

Halal Fat Burners

Fat Burners uses stimulants ingredients such as acids and herbs to help the body lose fat by using its store of fat as a source of energy.

When choosing Fat Burner in powder form be careful about flavored fat burners, as they are more likely to contain alcohol.

For Fat Burners that come in capsule form make sure whether those capsules are vegetal or made from animal gelatin.

Vegan Fat Burners are also acceptable as they are free of animal extracts.

Our pick: Genius Fat Burner

Halal Gainers

Gainers, as their name may suggest, are supplements used to gain weight. As such they contain high-calorie doses of carbohydrates, protein, and fats.

As for Fat Burners, Halal Gainers must be free of pork derivatives and alcohol.

You can buy it from Halal Sports Nutrition Hi-Cal Mass Gainer, who cite it as one of the cleanest ways to gain bulk.

Again, Vegan Gainers can also be used instead.

Fish Oil

Wooden Spoon And Fish Oil Capsules On A Black Background With Sp

Fish oil contains omega-3 fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), which have a large number of health benefits, including their ability to prevent cardiovascular disease, hypertension, and even depression.

Fish oil has also been found to aid in weight loss when exercising.

How Is It Made?

Fish oil comes from oily fish such as salmon and sardines, and it is made using various industrial separation processes.

Is It Safe?

Fish oil is known to be safer than fish because it doesn’t contain any mercury. However, it must be taken in reasonable doses, between 250 and 500 mg/day of EPA and DHA.

How It Works

EPA and DHA contained in the fish oil help balance cholesterol in the blood and increase the uptake of glucose and fatty acids into muscle cells.

How and When to Take It?

Fish oil supplements are generally packaged in capsules and can be taken at any time of the day. However, it is advisable to take them with meals containing some fats.

Related: Top 10 Halal Omega 3s

Our Pick: Salaam Omega 3

But what are the main benefits of supplements?

Invest In Your Health: Nutrition and Sports Supplements

 However, supplements are designed to be absorbed much quicker and easier than food, which can help older bodies perform at their optimum levels.

10. Improve your cardio

You can boost your cardio beyond what you ever thought possible simply by adding specific supplements. Beta-alanine has been shown to do this (3).


Even though there are hundreds of supplements available on the market, only a small handful are proven to be effective and safe.When choosing supplements, avoid those that promise benefits that sound too good to be true and stick with what is commonly used by natural athletes. Of course, never exceed the recommended dosage and only buy from reliable sources.

Lastly, don’t forget that even the most effective supplements cannot replace a well-thought-out exercise regimen, dedication, and a clean diet.

To conclude then, there is a market for Halal Supplements but it is in the process of expanding. It was not so long ago that a person might laugh at you for refusing bacon, but the world is changing.

We can expect to see many more Halal friendly products on our shelves soon. So if you can’t find an alternative to your chosen supplement just yet, we wholeheartedly believe that it will only be a matter of time before you can.


Supplements shouldn’t be mixed with other drugs. If you have a preexisting health condition, consult with your doctor to see whether it’s safe for you to take supplements.

Now it’s your turn. Do you use Halal supplements or regular ones? What are you favorite Halal brands? Feel free to share your thoughts and your best Halal supplements in the comment section below.

If you find this article helpful or interesting, please give it a like or a share and help me spread the word.

Houssaine is a fitness enthusiast and passionate about sharing his experience and knowledge on Halal nutrition & supplements subjects.

This Post Has 2 Comments

  1. JazakAllahul khair, I have been desperately searching a site related to halal supplements. I would like to know about the real and easy way to get halal supplements especially whey protein,creatine,beta Alanine and bcaa supplements. Kindly guide me and people like me telling the easiest way.

    1. Salam Kaleem,

      Justbrowse this very website and you’ll find many Halal-certified brands as well as others (vegetarian/vegan) brands that are suited form Muslims.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top